Heading out of, or is that into my era?

One thing that a few people have noticed is that we’re about 6 months away from the roaring twenties again? Yes, I only wish. Jazz making a coming back, girls loosing themselves from the restrictions of the time, and doing just what they want to do, ignoring the old fuddy duddies!

Sadly, there is little sign of a major jazz comeback, though it might be a blessing that we dont have to rely on bootleg gin, and as for smoking, heaven forbid! Also, even worse, in some areas of the US at least, some people seem to want to take things back to the 1820’s, with men ‘owning’ women’s bodies, even if they are no relation of them. Yes, somehow I dont think this wild flapper would be very welcome in the ‘Deep South’, giggle!

But no, seriously, I’ll leave those frivolities to nearer the time, and see how much those doctors will let me misbehave, because of my brain issues, and stuff. Now, those nasty brain issues…

One thing I soon noticed after the first bout of brain seizures, let alone the more recent ones, was that I had a few more issues to deal with in my life. No, not to smoke, and drink illicit gin, if anyone was hoping for that.

The thing that very quickly became obvious was that my already limited mobility, due to the damage to my back, was wrecked far more. I’m assuming that some connection between my brain, and the motor skills that allow me to walk have been wrecked. On a good day, I can do about 600 yards each way, on a bad one, the stairs are a challenge! Seriously, if anyone in the UK has a mobility powered wheelchair that they arent using, or have need for any more, I could really do with one. No, I wont wait for a positive answer!

The other obvious one, to me at least, is the quality of my writing, and the difficulty in putting words together, with the letters in the right order, or tense. Yes, if you knew how many edits I do on a blog nowadays… and these are only about 500 words!

So writing long stories, oh please, darlings, not going to happen! But I’m determined to get one thing done, that I promised to someone, before the brain went bang! There has been an annual anthology for pieces for a fictional city with tons of Superheroes, and heroines, called River City. Over the years I’ve created a couple of characters of my own.

One, Robbie, Roberta Bayport had the misfortune to be in the wrong place, at the wrong time, and had her body turned into that of a Robot, hence her name. Fortunately she was rescued before her brain was erased, and made a mindless robot slave, but her body was beyond repair. Hence, she became a robotic super-heroine.

The other, quite literally is from a different era, hence her name of Flapper Girl. Though how that still works in the 1930’s, ask her! Or her proper name, Billie, Belinda Nicholson. Yes, she lives totally up to the whole Flapper image, and lets leave it there.

So yes, I can officially confirm, short of a neurological miracle, I’m currently writing my last pieces of any length, and even there, its hard work! I’ve now completed their 2 solo pieces, and now just have one last piece to do, involving a little convenient time travel, where they get together, for their goodbye. Except…the dear fun putting this all together has already got a story put together for Roberta. Sounds like he’s going to put her through the wringer, but I’m sure she’ll survive. He has also used Billie before, may use her again, who knows? And as for what Betsy might do with either of them, heaven knows?

But for me at least, I’m about 2,000 words approximately away from done, as things stand. As I say, they are going to get together, one of them might be time travelling, but not the one who usually does it. Who knows, maybe a neurologist, or a mad scientist (that would be fun) can sort out my brain enough to write again, but I’m not holding out great hope. So maybe then, I can really put Robotunit8 to bed as a writing name, as I’ve only been using it on the Archive, and nowhere else for a while now.

The two of them, walking off into the sunset, for me at least, I’d put good money on it, but I’ll go with the flow, for sure.

OK, the video, a bit of Flapper craziness. It says this was all film from the 1920’s, but I’m not quite sure?

9 thoughts on “Heading out of, or is that into my era?”

  1. “And as for what Betsy might do with either of them, heaven knows?”

    Hey! What do you mean by that? Billie and Roberta survived my story with them in intact. In fact I showed them both to have features and powers you haven’t mentioned before.

    And as for Unit 8, well I did improve her a lot.

    Like

    1. Thats not what the 2 ladies tell me, lol. Anyway, I dont mind any more. Have now sent the 3 anthology pieces to JD, so I’m finished now anyway, got that retirement in before the medical one, lol

      Liked by 1 person

  2. JD mentioned this anthology to me a long time ago and I refused because I can’t write to order. It would take far too long. So the devious American asked me to start there and then. He’s so nice I couldn’t say no, so I started. The result was a story called 61 Days which he rejected because it was too long. It started out at about 7000 words, but I kept adding to it. So I had to write another one. This time the deadline is so close I don’t have time to fiddle with it. But I’ve only done one and you’ve done three. I’m looking forward to reading them.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.