Artificial body, artificial mind?

OK, let me say that in terms of what I’m considering, this is purely in the realms of fantasy at this time. Maybe it will be possible in decades to come, but for now…

When you mention artificial intelligence (AI) to people, it seems to be a love, or hate issue. Some people see it as a massive benefit for all the good it will be able to do, both in a practical, and assistance sense. Others see it as something sinister, controlling, and big brother like. Oh fine, a robot wannabee submissive like me might (alright, would) enjoy being controlled by technology, but lets consider other matters.

The other artificial thing that people are busily trying to create, currently with limited success, is artificial bodies. For disabled people like myself, where it gets interesting would be some combination of both items. Just imagine if people could literally be given a new artificial body, rather than their disabled human one, wouldnt it be tempting to do a swap? I know, for me, a nice chrome robot body would be heaven, but lets assume that in the future, its possible for people to transfer to a human looking, but artificial body, how many disabled people would be tempted? I guess not all, but some would, I’m sure.

As to the AI side of things, I suspect how far that went would make people decide how far to go. If its a literal download of your own mind, into an artificial body, its going to be preferable to one that is purely AI, even if the ‘personality’ is based on yourself? But lets say its a combination thing, it is you, but you need an element of AI, for the artificial body to function, hmm?

I know, me, I’d love the full robot life, but I’m probably in a class of one on that, lol!

But just think, OK, its only a replica of yourself, but no pain issues, full mobility, and all that brings, well? Yes, I know, if only I could, even more so as my body continues to fail of its own accord.

So yes, AI has good points, it has bad points, but overall, what do you think?

Right, video time. Have you ever wondered what a sound check is like, at a pop concert. Well, this is your chance. It does mean you dont get the full song, but you get to see behind the scenes stuff. Besides which, its Seattle, its black and white, so…

2 thoughts on “Artificial body, artificial mind?”

  1. Have you considered what exactly would happen to you if your mind was transferred to a robotic body? I think it would certainly be different from what I originally thought. Our meat brains operate from chemicals and hormones and whatnot and these signals just wouldn’t be there in a digital body. Yes, they could be artificially introduced, but for what reason? Even if you weren’t programmed in your new body and still had self awareness and control, your reactions would be very different from what you would expect in your old meat body. I can’t say exactly how people would feel and react in such a scenario, but it’s fun imagining.

    Like

    1. Yes, it would be very different, I’m sure. I suspect if AI ever gets to the point where this can be done, in truth, it will probably be so lightning quick, it will probably be like natural reaction. I suspect how people would react to the new body would depend on look. If its almost (or unable to tell difference from) human , then it would be a whole lot different to a chrome, metropolis type robot, for sure

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.