Dont let me out of here! Unless…?

Yes, work related blog, so if that doesnt interest…?

One year ago today, I walked into my new place of work for the first time as an employee. The rest, as they say, is history! Its ironic, all that time it took me to find work, and then I struck gold! I knew they would never know, but I said to myself at the time that I wanted to show all those firms that had passed on me, that they were wrong to do so, but now I’m glad they did.

Even more so, as they have been so supportive of the ‘old crock’ who has (temporarily, I hope) had to cut back to a 4 day week, because of her back issues, and everything else related to it.

Given that under the current rules, I am due to take retirement in just over 6 and a half years, its fair to say that unless they push me out of the door, or my physical health gives up completely, I’m planning on being there until the end. Unless…?

I know, I know, its an actress, and the dream thing. I still dream that by some strange miracle, I’m going to get plucked from anonymity by some director, producer, or whoever, and get offered a dream role. Lets face it, I havent done anything for a few years now, I’m fast approaching 60, and the body is in less than perfect condition, so yeah, who’s going to do that? in truth, no one will, but no, I dont want to, just yet, quite give up on that dream! Mind, currently I’m only good for roles that require someone to be sat down for the whole performance, or in a wheelchair! Hopefully not for long, but…

But yes, in hindsight, with all those mental bruises gone, about finding a job at my age, thanks for that. Because in the end, I’m grateful to you, even if I didnt feel so at the time.

Video time. The blog title isnt the song title, but its a well used line of lyrics.

Leave a Reply

