Trying to be practical

In truth, I was already beginning to suspect that given the state of my body at present (yes, still open to all offers of a cybernetically enhanced body, ideally in chrome), trying to do a 5 day week at work wasnt doing me any good. First sign was last Monday, when basically the body hadnt recovered from 4 working days in a row, by Monday morning, even with painkillers and stuff, and so it proved, I didnt get through the day, or more correctly my back didnt! I somehow managed to make it far enough through the day to get to halfway, so it didnt count as a sick day, but even that was hard work! Of course that gave me a day and a bit to recover, so I got through Wednesday fine, and Thursday OK, but then came Friday, and…

Yes, the body was sore, and tender, but I got into work, and managed to stay there, at least. But yes, it was a struggle. So anyway, trying to be practical as to my capabilities, I decided to do justice to work, and to myself, something had to give. So yes, I’ve asked if I can cut back to 4 days a week for now, hopefully only until the bone density scans are done, the results are known, and the medication kicks in. But given the former is still nearly 4 weeks away, and it will be about 3 weeks after that before the results are known, and I can be given something to hopefully cure the issue, its going to be a while before that happens, and the body just cant cope with that at the moment.

Yes, I can afford it for a short period of time (I’m guessing about 10-12 weeks), and could even afford it full time, if I cut back on my holiday trips to US! Yes, I know, ouch, but one 10 day trip would be cheaper than 2 single week trips, because of one less set of flights. Yes, a 14 night stay would still be cheaper, but there are very few places where I believe I could have enough to keep me amused for a fortnight!

Seattle could, San Francisco could, and I suspect Chicago, or Washington probably could. But some of the smaller cities I want to go back to, nope! 7 days would be fine, 10 maybe, but after that…? But yes, I’m hoping I can get back to a normal regime in a few months, but at the same time, I’m not getting younger, and my back isnt my only issue, so…?

My plan is to work Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday, which gives me the other 3 days off. Yes, I know, 2 days in a row, but I can seemingly cope with that, but no more. But yes, its me, I’d rather do a work routine I can manage, for less money, than let my firm down, by pretending I can do a 5 day week. Just waiting for confirmation of approval now.

So there it is, unless someone wants to provide me with a nice, new strengthened body…? 😉

Video time, what my body needs in terms of support. Martin Cooper might be handy, but given he has back issues himself…So no, thinking more of that back brace that needs to be ordered lol!

Leave a Reply

