At some point in our lives?

I think its fair to say that at some point in our lives, everyone gets to suffer from stress, depression, or more serious mental issues. Thankfully, for most, these are mild, and in time we get over them, but for others…? Yes, at least here in the UK, and maybe further afield, this week marks Mental Health Awareness Week. Were you aware of that?

As I say, for most people, the worst it gets is a bout of depression, or stress related to work, but for others, it can be far worse. Nervous breakdowns, or even something more severe than that, in fact. Me, in my time, I’ve suffered from depression and stress, to quite a major level, but I’m over the worst now, or at least I think I am. Trouble is, I suspect its one of those issues that just lurks, and just when you’re least expecting it, it jumps up and bites you again! Hopefully not, for me at least, but yes, there are times, when I just wonder…?

I think its fair to say that one of the reasons I wanted to write that story involving ECT did relate to my own experiences with depression, and the like. No, before you ask, I never have had that treatment, though unlike plenty, I would most definitely do so if I needed it, and hey, I might do it even before that point, given the chance. I have seen one of the old style rooms where it was done, but judging by what I’ve seen recently, care of You Tube, things have changed out of all recognition in the last 20 years, or so.

Yes, I know, its the whole thing about having your mind blasted with electricity with me, but lets not go on with that, especially as that tends to be for another purpose, when I’m playing out things in my head. But yes, I was determined to write a serious (but fictional) story on the matter when I did it, and I’m glad its done. Someone did ask me if I was planning another, but I told them no, for now at least. Not so much because I have got the whole issue off my chest, but mainly because I cant think of a fresh way to deal with it, in all honesty, without going back to the whole robot thing. I know, its been a while, but I wrote so many of those, and…

But yes, all I’m going to say is that if you see anyone, or suspect anyone is suffering from stress, or depression, and its safe to do so, go talk to them, try and help, dont just ignore them. If you cant help yourself, direct them to someone who can, thats all. But yes, dont just think Mental Health issues wont happen to you, because they just might, and there is such a thing as karma, so…

Right, video time. I know, quite literally this might not be the most suitable song for someone suffering from mental health issues, but at the same time…? Slade, definitely live!

Leave a Reply

