The one area of California I still want to visit.

Its funny, 51 weeks ago, I was reminiscing on here about a golf tournament in the US that I watching on TV, and saying how much I loved the area. Yes, Riviera, in Pacific Palisades, somewhere I suspect I may well return to in May, given that I suspect that unless ‘I make it’, it will be my last visit to the area for quite a while, if not longer. Because in truth, I have no idea how much longer my body will stand up to West Coast flights. And besides, 3 holidays in a row in that area is just way too much lol!

At the other end of the state, I’ve been to San Francisco a couple of times, and loved the city, which definitely includes that baseball park, and the view. And no, that definitely isnt the Oakland Coliseum, though I have seen a game there!

But in between the 2 big cities is one small area that I’d love to visit, though its easier said than done, for a non driver. Yes, thats right, and anyone that knows their golf venues will have worked out, is the area around Carmel, and Pebble Beach.

Fine, as I havent played golf in about 40 years (beyond pitch and putt/ par 3 golf), I have no plans, or desires to actually play Pebble Beach, but I have to say that the golf course looks amazing, and the views even more amazing! Oh, and fine, probably my main reason for going to Carmel is to visit the town, where a certain famous resident lives, though I wouldnt see her. Yes, Doris Day, who will be 93, or 95 this April, depending on which version of her age you go by! I have been a fan of her for probably about 50 years by now!

But in truth the whole Monterey peninsula looks amazing, and I hope one day to get there, though I suspect Doris might not still be with us by then. But fingers crossed…?

So yes, I might have been to California 5 times after May, but it doesnt mean I’ve seen everywhere in the state that I would love to!

The video. Probably one of my favorite Doris Day songs ever, though sadly the only live versions I can find (unsurprisingly) is from the movie, Calamity Jane. Fine by that, but it does mean she doesnt sing the whole song herself, but Howard Keel isnt a bad singer lol!

Leave a Reply

