Hold on, to what we’ve got?

I guess if I was actually a movie star nowadays, like the one I took the name of, I wouldnt mind the insane salaries that they get paid nowadays. In truth, for her time, the money Harlow was getting a week was pretty crazy, even if you took the depression out of the equation. I have no idea how much Clara Johnson was making for her lesser roles, acting, dancing, and whatever, but I suspect it was enough for a decent life, if not a Hollywood, or Beverly Hills mansion!

Its been the same with music stars, I guess, though apart from a few names, most only have a short period of fame, and then the money just has to last as long as it can, assuming they havent blown it all already?

But yes, fine, this comment comes out of a sporting event over the weekend, and OK, it relates to LA, so…

To me, what some sporting people earn is just crazy money. Even the lower league soccer stars earn more in a week, than I do in a month, for just kicking a ball around. When you get to the Premier League stars, and the stars of some of the US sports, well, it just goes crazy! I know, they’re good at their jobs, but $20 million plus, a year, seriously? I know, if I was male, and good at one of these sports, but, from the outside?

After this weekend, the NFL finally got round to the first coach sacking of the season, Jeff Fisher, at the LA Rams. The crazy thing, he’s only just been given an extension to his contract, so thats about $8 million he’s made, for about a fortnight of work! But the NFL is so loaded with money that even though I’m sure the owner will hate writing that money off, its an insignificant amount, in a billion dollar business! I know, football especially is a dangerous sport, careers are short, but…? Mind, the basketball, and baseball players earn equally insane amounts, but at least they work for a larger portion of the year to earn it!

But fine, the thing that amused me the most about an article on the CBS webpage on this, and the possible dismissal of the General Manager as well in the near future, was the talk of a woman in one of these roles, though I’m pretty sure they mean GM, not Coach! They then proceeded to give a list of 10 suitable names for the latter role, not one of them a woman! I know, I’m hopelessly not qualified, but if (seemingly when) it comes up, I’d be tempted to apply, just to shake up the old boys network. As I say, I wont get it, not qualified, no great experience, but…

Would any woman really stand a chance for a role like that, even if they were perfect for the job, and did apply? Hmm?

Yes, I’ll go back to dreaming of being offered a small theater, or movie part, and leave it at that, I guess! 😉

Video time. What the Rams didnt do in the title, and some would say, what they are now living on.

Leave a Reply

