If you offered me one train journey…?

I’m going to make it a long one. How does over 1,000 miles, most of it single track, with little intermediate population sound to you? I know, horrible probably, but if there is one railway line that tugs on my heart, that fits this bill, its the one that winds north from Winnipeg, to Churchill, in the frozen north (especially at this time of year) in Canada.

I know, there’s the Trans Siberian, or the chances to cross the US, or Canada, from ocean to ocean, and plenty more, but if you offered me one, and only one, this crazy Canadian railway, that you can only traverse in full, twice a week, is the one I would choose. It would certainly be different from travelling from Huddersfield, to Leeds or Bradford, for sure!

In truth, when I was young, the experience of travelling overnight from London, to Fort William, or Inverness, in the highlands of Scotland seemed like going by train forever. But since then, I’ve made that look like a sprint, travelling to Philadelphia, from Seattle, and back, which was about 3 days each way, with a change in Chicago! A few years later, I travelled from Philadelphia, to Atlantic City, allowing me to finally complete the crossing of America by train, ocean to ocean.

Oh, and fine, if someone arranged for me to travel from Moscow, to Vladivostok on the Trans Siberian, I wouldnt say no. To follow in the footsteps, even if it is now a very different route to hers, of Annette Meakin, would just be amazing.

But yes, secretly, this strange railway line from Winnipeg, to Churchill, and hopefully back, if given the choice, would be the one I’d do. Why, no idea? Its not even like I’m a massive fan of polar bears, or anything, but its there, and I’d so love to do it. And fine, its more practical for me to do than by dog sled between Anchorage and Nome! I could fly that, and might, given the chance, but seriously, if I was to do that Canadian trip, I wouldnt even look at air flight schedules!

Yes, hopefully, one day, I will do it!

Right, two videos, ooh! Firstly, the classic Canadian train song, even if its not about this line, and its nothing more than a few images, but yes, if you think of such songs, this one is probably the best

Secondly, a brief travel tale of the line I’ve just mentioned. I have to say the narrator doesnt sound overly enthusiastic about it, but anyway…

Leave a Reply

