Wonderful Land?

I wonder if thats how the first Pilgrims to move to North America, in 1620, saw what we now call the USA on their arrival on the Mayflower? The fact that they barely left the ship until the spring of 1621 suggests they may have seen it more as a way of getting away from the oppression of the UK, than anything else, but at this distance in time, it really is impossible for us to know.

The one thing we do know, or so history says, is that for 3 days in November, they, and the native Americans celebrated the completion of gathering in the harvest, by holding a feast, and other associated events, that we now relate back to as Thanksgiving. The likelihood of them calling it that? Pretty slim, I would say! But ever since then, and on the last Thursday in November, since 1863, it has been celebrated in the US. Well, there was one year, in the 1930’s, when it was moved forward one week, but otherwise…

Thankfully, the related ‘feast’ of shopping, known as Black Friday has been around for a far shorter time, though that one day seems to have grown into a fortnight this year, or does it just feel that way?

I know, big Ameriphile me, my grand total, one. Two years ago, thanks to a wonderful friend in Northern New York, I have celebrated the big event. Maybe I can again some day, though I suspect it might have to wait until I retire from work, but who knows? There is also someone, whose birthday clashes with the big event week, which makes it hard to do at present.

Therefore, unsurprisingly, I’ve never been involved in the cooking of a Thanksgiving Dinner, and unless I find someone over there crazy enough to take me on as a partner/wife, then I probably wont! Might be for the best now, my cooking skills are so out of practice, that I might be lousy at it now, but anyway…?

Anyway, to all my friends, and readers in the US, have a wonderful day tomorrow. But while you’re celebrating with all your modern technology, just stop, and think back to that first Thanksgiving nearly 400 years ago, when there were no ovens, let alone what we have now.

Fine, the video. As so often, the clue is in the title

Why today, and not tomorrow? Well, 2 years ago tomorrow, on 24th November, 2014, I met, err, me, for the first time!

Leave a Reply

