New World In The Morning?

Alright, I’ll try not to get too politically controversial, but given feelings in the US over Columbus Day, which happens tomorrow, its a chance to do so, I guess? No, I’m not going to comment on Trump’s comments in the last few days, I dont think its hard to work out how I feel about him, given my known political leanings lol!

Yes, tomorrow is a public holiday in the US, to celebrate Columbus’s first visit to the New World, as America was then termed, but as many see it, is it something we really want to celebrate? Because, lets face it, he was after the glory, and any booty he could fine, with no care whatsoever for the Native Americans living there. So yes, there are a number of people who think this 2nd Monday in October could be better served as Native Americans Day, and I’d be inclined to agree.

I know, we cant imagine what life was like back then for everyone, even explorers, let alone the more humble sailors on his ships, but even so, their treatment of the locals, not good!

Funnily enough, it seems to be an ‘in between’ holiday in the US, as I remember from last year, when I was trying to find out what bus service we would be getting on the Monday, the normal service, or a ‘Bank Holiday’ one, which would have meant no service on the route up to where I was staying, as it relates to a Sunday service, and there wasnt one! Yes, it was a normal Monday service, much to my delight, and relief. No, I cant remember what I did though lol!

As to next May, its funny, I was assuming that for 10 days, I’d take the hotel option, and probably still will. But I did take a look at AirBnB, just to see what I could find, and found a couple of decent looking ones, that could work, at a fair bit less, price wise. At the same time, the thought of arriving on the Wednesday, and having to go out, and buy provisions straight way, doesnt thrill me. But fine, I’m thinking about it. No, not looking at a room, only really at an apartment/studio type stay, as I’m really not the sociable kind, if anyone has any ideas. If anyone knows anything nice, under $1000 (including taxes, cleaning etc) for the 10 days, near to Hollywood, or Beachwood Canyon, let me know.

My needs, internet supplied, and ideally cable TV (please, its baseball season lol), a small kitchen, and a bed, and well, thats all I really need! I know, no replies, but if I dont ask…?

OK, video time. Getting back to Columbus, and the New World for this one, so…

Leave a Reply

