The commentator that saves me

Funny the things that come back to remind you of past events. This day last year, I got up just after 6.30 in the morning, to watch live NFL from London. Well, more a case of I got up about that hour, and it was on! Yes, sort of funny, watching it from my home country, from thousands of miles away very early in the morning. This year, I started watching at 2.30 in the afternoon, from about 150 miles away from Wembley.

The thing is, I’m used to either US commentary people, or the excellent group of people who provide the coverage on Sky Sports over here. To those wondering, we get the Thursday, Sunday, and Monday night games, plus 2 day games over here on a Sunday to view, a pretty good deal.

So yes, what happened this afternoon, err, not so good. Yes, it seems the London games this year are being covered on BBC, and to say their presentation team havent got a clue, would be putting it mildly! I know, those who dont subscribe to Sky, probably dont know how bad it was, and as for what Americans would have made of it, I dont want to know! Sadly, in 3 weeks time, I have to survive the BBC team again, and again a week later, for the other 2 London games, ah well…Even more so as the next one involves the LA team lol!

Oh, and while I’m mentioning commentators, for the last time, I promise, Vin Scully! Yes, tonight, in San Francisco, and then thats it, after an incredible 67 years! He’s decided he’s not doing any play off games, even though the Dodgers are there, so… Thanks for everything, Vin, even if I’ve only known you a few glorious years of your reign. Enjoy your retirement. Oh, and should you want to meet a strange, British lady next May, I’d love it!

Video time. I couldnt find anything that really worked for this, so I’ll go out of left field, and give you an acoustic version of a big Oasis hit. Even better news, its Noel singing, not Liam!

Leave a Reply

