Taking the teal train

Yes, fine, non Californians, humor me, but its ages since I did a LA related blog, and given whats happening next week, and the fact that I had no other bright ideas that Americans would get, I’m going with this! I am free to suggestions, if anyone wants to make any, mind.

Thats right, starting next Friday, the Metro system gets extended. And unlike the Gold line extension earlier this year, this one is a bit special to me! Why? Because of where this extension takes the train to, Santa Monica! Yes, I want to ride it, though at present, I have no idea when, or how thats going to happen. If any generous beneficiary wants to make that possible, please do!

Several times, I’ve experienced the ‘delight’ that is taking a bus to Santa Monica, from either LA, or Hollywood. Believe me, using Metro at least, its not fun! Lengthy, winding route, that seemingly takes forever. Well, well over an hour at least, even at good times, and when you approach, or get into rush hour, you really dont want to know! Even the Big Blue Bus (express, higher fare) which goes on the Interstate for most of the journey hits plenty of stationary traffic, especially at the wrong time of day!

But, from Friday onwards, you can catch the train! Well, the metro type trains, at least. Did you know, the last time there was a train service to Santa Monica? 1953! Only for a few more days though, and then…Yes, the Expo line extension, which is shown in a teal color on maps (hence the blog name) finally opens beyond Culver City, all the way to the sea! Well, almost all the way, a few hundred yards walk will still be needed, but besides that…

So yes, if and when I get back to LA, I wont have to battle my way to Santa Monica by a slow moving bus, I can go by train! And given I enjoy visiting Santa Monica, that will be a massive bonus for me. Hopefully, some day soon, I can get to make that trip, fingers crossed.

No, sadly, as far as I know, there are no plans to have a branch on the Red line up Beechwood Canyon, ah well…

There is talk of trying to get the Airport connected to the Metro in the next few years, that will certainly be a blessing when it happens, I must say. Fine, I might still get a shuttle to wherever I’m staying, but at least I could go and use a certain wonderfully designed restaurant area at the Airport, if it was easier to get there!

Right, the video. A jazz classic, with a modern twist, provided by Diana Krall. There is a slight clue in the blog title, but if you’ve got this far, you’ve seen what it is already, I guess?

Leave a Reply

