Who me, working in Nevada?

No, dont get over excited, it was a false alarm. But for a short while I dreamed the dream, of not only working in the US, but in the sports betting industry, in one of the big gambling cities of the world. No, despite the video selection, it wasnt Las Vegas. The other big gambling center in Nevada though, Tahoe.

Right, what happened. Earlier this week, I got one of my job availability emails, and it was from my former employers in Leeds. No, not my old job, but more on that shortly. Different department, different role, but nothing I couldnt do with ease. And yes, one of their Monday to Friday jobs, to top that. So fine, yes, I applied. Havent heard anything back yet, but as applications havent closed yet, thats not necessarily a major shock.

What I didnt realize at the time, was that if you applied for jobs there, they automatically place you on a list that emails out jobs that you are qualified/suited for, to you. So, the next day, when I get one offering me the chance to work as a Ticket Handler, in their Sports Betting Department, in Tahoe, Nevada, I couldnt quite believe my luck! I mean, all my details said I was currently in the UK, but anyway…my idea of work heaven!

So, after a few hours of thinking that they had the wrong person (or location, anyway), but knowing they’d sent it to me, I applied. Anyway, after filling in all the forms, I got told the news I was expecting, but didnt want to hear. Thank you very much, but your immediate unavailability to work in the US meant they werent interested. Fair enough, I thought that before I started, but anyway…

The next day, I realized their system didnt work on logic, when it offered me roles in Romania, and the Philippines! So I investigated more, found out what was wrong, and attempted to set it up to only offer me UK jobs.

Last element of fun? This morning, I got an email from their computerized system offering me a job. Yes, it was local, in Leeds, and it was definitely something I could do. How do I know that? Its my old job! No, I didnt apply though, as it would mean finishing sometimes at 11.00 at night, and I couldnt get home here, by public transport at that time of night. Nor could I get in for 7.00 am either! But yes, it was funny to get it.

Mind, if someone in Vegas, or Tahoe sees this, and is prepared to take me on in their Sports Books sections, as a diligent, hard worker, yes please. Fine, I’m a Brit, and its a bit of work, but…

Fine, the video. This song came to mind, and when I saw a version, other than Elvis, I felt brave, and gave it a go. Alright, the Presley version is probably better, but finding a live video of it… So you’ll have to suffer this!

Leave a Reply

