This could be a case of Dodgers, and Scully

Yes, fine, there’s a reason for the blog title, a slight tweak on a song lyric.

As I write this, I’m listening to the dulcet tones of Vin Scully, commentating on the opening home game of the Dodgers season. Ironically, this is almost certainly because I am in the UK, and ESPN UK are taking the coverage from TWC Cable, a privilege that far too many in LA cant do, because of the financial demands said cable company makes on other broadcasters in the area, to take their coverage. I know there has been efforts to get this sorted out this year, for a major reason, but I have no idea how successful that has been.

Yes, this marks the start of Vin Scully’s last season doing the commentaries for the Dodgers games, sad news. Fine, he’s been doing it for nearly 70 years, first in Brooklyn, then of course, for most of those years, in Los Angeles. To say he is probably the most legendary baseball commentary man, would be putting it mildly! Oh, and how many people in their late 80’s could be as sharp, and informative as him?

Irony is, I saw the Dodgers live a few times last season, but the only times I heard Vin, I was in the UK. I was either at the game, or it was the playoffs, and you got the national coverage, and besides, as I was in Hollywood, I probably couldnt have got the pictures of TWC, and the voice of Scully, for reasons mentioned above.

I’m not sure I’ve ever heard anyone say a bad word about Mr Scully. Mind, I have only listened to him for the last few years of his long career, but even so…I doubt they have!

In truth, short of a miracle, I’m never going to meet the legend, but hopefully over the course of this season, as well as tonight, I’ll hear him a few times more. Yes, fine, in an ideal world, I’d get back to Hollywood this year, go to a Dodgers game, and meet him. Yes, reality, none of that is going to happen without a miracle at present!

But fine, for the next couple of hours or so, before bed, I’m going to enjoy listening to him.

Oh, the video. Well, it mentions Scully, though not the one I’m listening to, tonight.

There is one more retirement this year I want to mention, David Ortiz, in Boston. Yes, fine, same issues with seeing him live this year, I guess?

Edited to add 2 things. Firstly the road leading up to Dodgers Stadium has now been renamed. Yes, you guessed it, Vin Scully Avenue!

Secondly, tonight, one of those pure Scully moments. One of the Arizona players is named Socrates, so we got one of those special stories, about the Ancient Greek of the same name, while he was batting. Heaven!

Leave a Reply

