Sometimes you just have to put your life on Freeez

Yes, that spelling is deliberate, as you will see, when we get to the end of the blog!

Last night, while trawling through Facebook, I got a private message come through, from someone who’d liked one of my comments on a certain sci-fi picture, one involving people wearing silver space suits, and the like. Yes, I know, who would have thought I had a thing for body hugging silver suits?

Oh, fine, the fact he’s in LA, a city I love was a nice bonus too. Just outside the city, but I know pretty well, just where he is. No, if you want to know that detail, you’ll have to ask.

Anyway, amongst many other interesting sci-fi subjects we got talking about, there was one I’ve never got around to posting about on here, suspended animation. Yes, those pods, in Lost In Space was where we got started, and things just took off from there.

Which got me thinking, just how practical is suspended animation, stasis, or any other name you might like to use for it. As things stand (presumably), the main issue, as I see it, in suspending a person totally, is the factor of keeping the brain, and heart, in such a state, that when reactivated, everything is fine. I mean, surely, if everything is suspended, then the brain isnt getting the supply of blood it needs, so wouldnt it get damaged? Or are you so totally suspended, that it doesnt matter? Once reactivated, its just like everything just sleeps, and all is fine?

I mean, currently, as far as I know, no one has tried this with a living person, right? And no, cryogenics (freezing after death) doesnt count, because,

1. The person is dead, whereas the person in suspended animation, is really only in a very deep sleep.
2. No one who has been cryogenically frozen has yet been woken up, so we have no idea if they wouldnt just be dead anyway, or so brain damaged, they might as well be.

But fine, I admit it, if someone offered to try out suspended animation, on me, I’d probably say yes. I know, I’m crazy like that! Ideally initially for a very short time, while having my brain scanned, for potential problems, but anyway…And fine, if it worked, and all was fine, I might go for a bit longer like that, especially if I’m not aging in the interim. A month, you bet! A year, probably. Beyond that, hmm, lets see how it feels, when done. A century, no thanks! Well, unless its part of a deep space mission, and then, hmm?

So, if anyone out there has a suspended animation pod they want a guinea pig to try out, give me a shout. Somehow, I’m not expecting a call in the near future, but who knows?

Right, the video. Yes, the clue is in the title, but thats the group, not the song. Oh fine, there’s some robot dancing in this!

Leave a Reply

