Dream a little dream, of a Hollywood home

Firstly, let me thank Elaine, for being the only person to give me a suggestion for this blog, very much appreciated. Well, someone did say they’d go with the flow, but…

I would love to read more about your dream to live in Hollywood

Being honest, unless I win a very large amount in the lottery, or I find the right man, or woman, this is likely, sadly, to only ever remain a dream. Well, I suppose Bernie Sanders could become President, change the Immigration rules dramatically, but…No, the latter at least isnt likely to happen. I still need to be convinced the US people would make Bernie President, but I’d love it to happen. But fine, this isnt about politics tonight, its about a home in Hollywood.

Yes, I would love to live in Hollywood, but why? In a sense, LA is the sort of place that shouldnt appeal to me, especially Hollywood, as that is even more glitzy, but there is something I love about the place. Fine, that adorable little apartment I spent most of October in, probably plays a part, but even before then, I’d fallen in love with the town.

I’m pretty sure that being a lover of Silent, and Golden Era movies helps with my love of the place, and with good reason. But yes, that definitely makes me feel at home there, knowing the history of the place, even if it is far more modern now. And all those tours, they go to the homes of the modern stars, not the ones I love, but anyway…

The irony is, I think my lifestyle, if I lived there, would be more Clara Johnson, than Jean Harlow! Yes, it might be fun living in style like that, but in truth, I’d be far more comfortable living my quiet life around town, working as a bit part actress (like Clara), or just in an office, or a shop, I’d fit in more with the girl who worked hard, without ever really being noticed, by those who matter.

Thats right, no big mansion for me. A nice little apartment, with one decent bedroom, and I’d be in heaven. If it was somewhere like Beachwood Canyon, where I could see the famous Hollywood sign, even better. That studio apartment on Verbena was cute, but a studio apartment, as your main home, maybe a little small, even for me! Though fine, my own little place, anywhere in town, wonderful.

Yes, working in, or around the movies would be fun. I’ve written plenty of short stories, but thats it. I havent acted in years either, so all in all…But yes, any little job, working in and around, the bustle of Hollywood, I’d love it. No, I’m pretty sure there are no openings for middle aged Jean Harlow lookalikes! Could do Mae West, I guess? 😉

So yes, unless I find a partner, or money, I fear this will never be anything more than a dream. But I’d love the opportunity to prove myself wrong. But as things stand, I’m not likely to get work over there, so I’ll just have to live the dream, and no more?

The video, all about dreaming, from a California lady who died far too young. No, not Jean, before you ask!

Finally, let me close by wishing all my readers a Happy New Year for 2016, and hope its a good time for you. Me, I’ll be trying to make it that way, I hope!

Leave a Reply

