So how would you describe a colour to a blind person?

Today I had a job interview, nothing original in that statement at least. I had thought it would be the last job interview as Ms Nicholls, and in a sense, I wish it was, because it was actually fun. Sadly, now, it wont be, as I have one more tomorrow now, which will be very standard and boring (one of our bigger insurance companies), before sending off the passport, and when it returns, I will be Miss Carpenter in every sense of the word.

I know, a job interview that was actually fun, scary stuff? Well, to be honest, until the last step (the second interview), it was going in a fairly traditional form, of filling out forms, doing a couple of tests, and being interviewed about my job history, and what I could bring to the company.

Then events got fun. I went off for the second part of the interview, assuming this was when the competency based questions, which I so despise, would be asked. Wrong! This was questions from left field, and hey, it was fun! I had heard of these things, but until today, had never had one.

First question was my dream job. Well, I avoided being voluntarily turned into a robot, a mad scientist’s guinea pig (of any kind), and even the slightly more normal, astronaut. Yes, 1930’s movies actress, no idea who inspired that answer.

Fine, so next? Describe the colour yellow, to a blind person! Well, I rambled on about the warmth of the sun, and imagining its colour, and did the same with daffodils, but I got through. To be told I coped with this strange question far better than most!

So, my challenge readers, if you’re feeling brave, is to think about that question, and work out how you would describe any colour (of your choice) to a blind person? Not easy, is it? Oh, and if any one of you has an interesting dream job, feel free to consider that, or even, on both counts, if you’re really brave, answer them in the comments section for me.

Come on, its nearly Christmas, give me a present, say hi, and answer one of those questions, or both.

The video. One of my favourite groups of all time, and yes, when I was very young, I wanted to sing like Judith Durham. And it fits in with one of the questions, anyway.

Leave a Reply

