A change of lifestyle, a change of name?

Well, yes, I’ve gone ahead and done it, made the first formal enquiries about becoming a student, officially! Fine, at this point, I’m still waiting to see if there is a suitable Foundation course I can do this year (the one initially suggested is international students only, and Yorkshire is yet to declare independence from the UK, so…), but I’ve gone ahead, and taken the first steps, formally.

We will see, I still think its a slightly crazy idea to start studying again at 57, but it holds appeal, and my opportunities as a worker seem limited (or less) at present, so maybe I should? To be honest, its more how the mature brain is going to react to studies again, rather than the crazy notion of actually doing it that bothers me more!

If only someone could do a neural download, or stick me in a rejuvenation chamber, or something, but anyway…

The other daft idea I’ve got at present, is to do a name change. Yes, after all this time, being Stevie Lou officially, and not Stephanie Louise, is beginning to get to me. Yes, I dont think I’ve got bimbo-itis, but I want a really girly name! Why I took the abbreviated version (other than that was what everyone called me) when I did the name change, I have no idea! But now, at my age, its a bit “young”, I feel?

Mind, if I am doing a name change, the name that really appeals (even if it isnt quite so girly) is Harlean Carpenter. No, I have no idea where I got that idea for a name comes from lol! Middle name, I could roll with Jean, though I might stick with Stephanie, one last tie to my old self.

The other cheeky idea I’ve got, for getting it done (given I’m out of work at present, remember), is one of these fundraising schemes that seem to have taken off of late. Its not like I’d need a fortune (about £100 for deed poll, passport, and passport photos) to do it, but it just sounds silly to me. But nothing ventured, nothing gained, I guess? Lets face it, if no one donates, I’m no worse off, so…I couldnt formalise it before September anyway, as I have an air flight booked in my current name, but after that…

Fine, to finish, the video. Where I might be living shortly? 😉 Let me say I know nothing about the group, found this through a You Tube search

Leave a Reply

