Never too old to study?

Its fair to say, that at 57, I had assumed my days as a student were well and truly over. Given the last examination I took, was in 1976 ( An A grade in Accounts O Level), a reasonable conclusion, you might say. Yes, I am that old, and it has been that long!

Thats right, GCE (as they were back then) O Levels is as high a standard of education as I own, as I had to go out to work as soon as I’d finished my O Levels at school, in 1974 (the last one was at a local college, night course), as my mother was a single parent, so it was fait accompli.

Its why it took me 29 years to do what most do in their gap year after school to travel, and see a bit of the world (several months in the US), because it was only at that point (after her death) that I was able to take some time out, and do it! Apart from a Christmas seasonal job, I’d had to stop work for a while, so it seemed the obvious time to do it.

But study again, at my age (even then I was 45), seriously, no! Until now!

Its fair to say that while I was working, any thoughts of studying were put on the back burner, as I was earning money, had a settled life, and all that, until recently, when I was made redundant. A friend posted about an open evening, at a seminary, in the US, and studying there. I joked I was too old, but he disagreed. And yes, it struck me what a wonderful move that would be, both personally, and religiously. But the complexities of needing degrees, and the acceptance of me being allowed to study in the US made that all a bit of a step too far.

As people also know, I have a bit of an interest in science matters, especially anything involving electrics, though most of what I’ve written about until now has been purely fiction, though I suspect that in the next 20 years or so, some of it will become science fact! But when a Twitter contact mentioned an open day, at his university, for courses on Electrical Engineering, I again said I’d love to do that, if I was younger. Again I get told that you’re never too old for these things!

So now I’m considering going to an open day, in a fortnights time, and signing up for a foundation course in Electrical Engineering. Who knows, even at my age, maybe I can really make something of myself? Wouldnt that be something?

Well, it would certainly be something different, which is what I wanted, for sure! And no problems with working, and living in the UK either! Fine, I’ll check the trains! 😉

The video, a live version of a very obvious song! (To say, video includes strobe lighting)

Leave a Reply

