And today is…

National Classic Movie Day, so I’m told.

I do think that just maybe we are getting to a point of overkill with these things to be honest, but as it is one with a special meaning for me, I’ll roll with it.

When I was younger, I was fortunate enough to watch the likes of ‘Gone With The Wind’, ‘Wizard Of Oz’ and ‘Casablanca’, and realise just what amazing movies they were. Yes, there were many others too, too numerous to mention, but they are pretty much 3 films that everyone has heard about, so…

Of course, in terms of personal classics, everyone has their own. Some of those films probably werent classics to most, but to the person who really matters, you, they are, and thats all that really counts!

A lot depends on your preference, I guess? Musicals, light comedy, war films, westerns, and so much more, all have their fans. As of course, do silent movies! In terms of personal tastes, both ‘Metropolis’ and Pandora’s Box’ get mentioned in such terms, though neither was wildly popular at the time they were made.

Of course, for many of my readers, their personal classics will be a lot more modern than mine! The only recent one that stands out for me in that sense, would be ‘Titanic’, but as you know, in terms of modern movies, I’m not a big fan.

Oh, and before you ask, no, I dont think Jean Harlow made a movie that would truly be regarded as a classic. She may well have done, had she lived a bit longer, and indeed there are tales that she had been asked to audition for the part of Scarlett O’Hara, but I have no idea how true that is. The one thing known, is that she was reading the book at the time of her death, and most suspect that was related. But given events, we will never know…

‘Dinner At Eight’ is probably her gem, but that is probably as much due to the supporting cast, as well as her personal skills. But believe me, if you get the chance, watch it. If not, try and find the segment of the closing lines, one of the greatest “put downs” of all time, hoisted on Jean!

So, unless its late in the day, as it is here, take a portion of your day, go watch a classic movie. After all, its the day to do so. Even if it is late in the day, and you havent seen one lately, spoil yourself.

Lastly, as always, the video. What were those great actors, and actresses, I ask you? Super stars, of course.

Leave a Reply

