Take me back to the ball park

Yes, its early April, and that means the Baseball season gets back into serious business tonight. I know, like many sports, there have been so many pre season matches that its unreal, but tonight, the ‘messing about’ stops, and we get down to the serious stuff.

And what better place (other than maybe Fenway Park?) to start the season than historic Wrigley Field, in Chicago, now 101 years young! Though the Cubs have only been playing there for 99 years, but who’s counting? Their opponents tonight, the St Louis Cardinals.

Well, I’m told the Cubs are going to look a whole new team this year, and supposedly they are talking about making the World Series. The fact that they havent won one, since 1908 is besides the point, and they’ve looked awful in recent times. But the team has had a major overhaul, so who knows, but I cant see it, sorry.

No, I wont be watching tonight, given it starts at 1.00 am our time, even if I’m not working at present, I need some beauty sleep. I’m sure it will be shown again on ESPN tomorrow, and then there is plenty of baseball tomorrow evening my time, so…

As to live baseball, well, I’ve got one game in mind. Last September, I watched a game in Kansas City, and in a couple of weeks, I’ll see a game just down the road from Hollywood. Of course, neither team was there in Jean’s time, but… I might also try to get to Anaheim, and see the Angels, but it might get complex for a non driver, so dont quote me on that! Also, I might find more than enough to do around L.A that I simply dont get the time to consider it! Still, Dodgers and Rockies is a definite fix for me, unless I break the SoCal drought!

I’m told my Seattle Mariners will be a contender this year, but I’ll believe it when I see it! Other than that, I’ll be rooting for the Royals, and Red Sox, and booing the Yankees, some things never change!

I might get another game in September, but that depends on a lot of things (including finding a job, probably), so we will see.

But one thing is for sure, if ESPN are showing baseball, at a reasonable hour, I’ll be watching it!

The video, well its the obvious baseball song. Wrigley Field too, where the season will start tonight

Leave a Reply

