What goes colour wise for job interviews?

Just a quick thought, as I get ready for another job interview tomorrow (yes, the internal one I’d like to get), is something more trivial than actually getting the job.

What colours are permitted as ‘proper’ for a dress, during a job interview? So far, my record in all my recent ones have been my one black dress. Which is fine, I like the dress, but…is it really the only colour a woman can be expected to wear on occasions like this?

I’m not suggesting a flouncy, Jean Harlow ‘special’ in white, or anything over the top like that, just wondering if its done to wear anything other than black? High heels, fine, even if you are 5ft 11, or the like, I can understand, though I wont be wearing them long on either side of my interview, but thats as much a joints, and balance thing, as anything else.

I know one thing, the taxi driver (I’m on a late tomorrow night) is going to get a surprise when I turn up in a dress, instead of top and trousers!

So what colour, if anything other than black, goes for a job interview? Answers would be appreciated, before 11.30 GMT tomorrow would be even better.

OK, the video tonight is very old, a touch of Cole Porter, in fact. The very original version of ‘Anything Goes’, which seems to not be the thing for ladies to wear to job interviews.

Oh, and lurkers, wishes of good luck are permitted.

Leave a Reply

