Half an hour (or so) with my man

No, dont get too excited, folks, its only a hopeless crush, nothing more.

Normally, I get to see ‘my man’ once a year, on a Monday night, sometime in September. The rest of the year, well, I have pictures of him, for my memories. But now, this year, in all, we will get together 3 times, once last month, again last night, and then again, in 4 weeks time.

His good looks, his wonderful voice…

Oh fine, as I said, dont get excited, I’ve never even met the man, nor am I in all honesty likely to, its Jon Gruden, presenter on Monday Night Football, in the US.

The once a year thing? Well, yes, normally every September I spend a week in the US, and when Monday Night Football comes on, I can sit on the sofa (or whatever I have at the hotel), and swoon at his looks, and his voice. I missed one year, as my room in Boston was at a retreat centre, so no TV. But otherwise…

This year, I knew I had a bonus, the extra trip (as things played out) to the US in November, meant I would see him again, but…for one week only…

The combination of a 10 pm finish (getting home about 50 minutes later), and the fact that due to the US dropping the clocks back an hour, a week after us, everything fell into place. So at 12.15 this morning, the TV was set to British Eurosport (the channel that covers MNF over here), when they went over to the ESPN feed for the game. And there he was, my man, Jon. Fine, I was nearly straight on the computer, but for the next half hour or so, while I finished things off…

I’ve actually known Jon about 15 years or so, firstly as a coach in the NFL, then as the presenter of MNF on TV, when he finally got fired by Tampa Bay. And yes, even back then, it wasnt hard to have a crush on the guy. Those looks, that voice, all do something for me, I must admit.

As you know, I’m not one for love, romance, and all that stuff, but if one man was going to sweep me off my feet, yes, he would be my perfect choice.

So fine, now you know!

The video, what I am again now, until 4 weeks time, at least as far as seeing ‘my man’ is concerned

I had no idea he was still performing in all honesty, until I found this, this song was a hit 42 years ago, so…

Leave a Reply

