A different line of thought

One line of thought that seems to be gaining momentum over my look, isnt the Harlow one! Oh, dont get me wrong, its still very popular with me, and with many others, but one other name seems to keep getting mentions, and ironically kidney failure played a part in her death too, but at least she lived to 50! Her name, Veronica Lake. A picture, for those who dont know

veronica lake1

And yes, I can definitely see the resemblance in many ways, apart from the hair length! No, I’m not sending that picture to my hairdresser if I ever want it trimmed again! Also looks like it takes a lot of maintenance, something I really dont have the time for.

The thing that picture doesnt give away, is how tiny she was, just under 5 ft! Yes, she would have looked up to Jean Harlow, and that is saying something! And no, I dont know how she put up with that peek a boo look, it would annoy the hell out of me! But other than that…

Oh, and she could sing, ‘of sorts’, as shown in this wartime effort

But being compared to all these glamorous ladies, I’m not complaining!

And lastly, to complete my early movies foursome, the other lady I havent mentioned before, and another one, like Brooks, I definitely dont resemble, Clara Bow!

Clara, like Louise made most of her films in the silent movies days. Thankfully, more of her movies have survived the test of time, though an awful lot are still described by that awful term, lost film. Clara, like Louise, was never a fan of the talkies, mainly because she hated working to a mic, rather than to the audience. Like so many stars, her Brooklyn accent is used as an excuse, but if you hear her talk, like Brooks, it wasnt true. Just that Bow didnt enjoy talkies, and Brooks hated the whole Hollywood thing, but both soon stopped making movies, Bow’s last was in 1933.

The thing that made me write about her tonight, an interesting find that suggests she auditioned for the part of Scarlett O’Hara! But all in all, what Clara deserves to be remembered for, is her bubbliness in films like this one

Last interesting point, in 1933 Jean Harlow made a film called Bombshell, a pastiche on Clara Bow, made by one of her former loves.

Very last interesting point, both Bow, and Brooks worked for Paramount.

There, all 4 in 1 blog, how’s that?

Leave a Reply

