Are you sure this isnt the 1930’s?

Yes, seriously, it has to be said, that in terms of concert style, and feel, the last thing a Postmodern Jukebox show feels like, is, well, modern. Might be unfair to say 30’s, because equally there are parts where it feels like the 50’s, and others more like the 20’s, but, hey, whatever the era, its great fun!

When Scott Bradlee (the genius behind the group) first announced the tour, he suggested going to the concert, dressed for the part, i.e vintage clothing, I thought, why not, unsurprisingly, and jumped at the chance. But you know me, why stop at clothing (blouse and slacks, as you will see soon, rather than a dress), I’ll go for the make up (a rare treat for me, expertly done for me), and get my hair curled, a la Harlow, and do the whole thing, so I did. I might even have gone with a vintage style dress (actually got one on as I’m typing this), but it was a Saturday, with football folk about, having had a bit to drink, so, I took the easy option. Besides which, given a choice, Harlow preferred that look anyway!

What, you want a peek at how I looked? Oh fine!

silver 30's look 1

silver 30's look 3

I know, Harlow never wore glasses, nor tragically, did she ever reach the age of 56, so how literally I look like her, your call!

To be honest, those of us who dressed up the part were definitely in the minority, but I guess thats hardly surprising. But there were a few more, from various decades (20’s, 30’s, 40’s and 50’s) looking the part, which was nice.

Oh, the concert, as I say, if it wasnt for the mobile phones, you could have believed you were in a different era. Well, if you looked at the stage, not the sound system at least! It was really good, and the quality of performance really did stand up to those on You Tube, which isnt always the case. Yes, I would go again, given the chance, and you should too, if you get the opportunity, its really worth it.

The video, yes, they played this number last night, sounded pretty much as good.

Leave a Reply

