Bright ideas for a story

Yes, go back a few blogs, and you might remember I mentioned about an anthology of superheroine stories, set in the fictional setting of River City? Well, yes, Robotica came quite easily for me, and indeed it was quite fun writing a piece about a robot (though strictly she’s more cybernetic, than robot, but anyway…), and it came to me quite easily.

Flapper Girl, now that was a whole different challenge. Firstly, I tried to write a story about a modern girl, who styles herself as a Flapper, and write a piece that way. To be honest, it might have been fun, but all I could draw was a blank.

So finally I decided, if River City has modern day Super’s, they didnt just arrive overnight, of course. So why not put Flapper Girl in her natural era, the 1920’s? But still, given you cant use computers, or the internet as a tool back then, what could I use as a storyline?

Then I remembered one of those popular films set back then, and no, not The Great Gatsby. In fact, the first film version of that was made in the 20’s, though beyond the trailer, nothing survives today, its a lost film, sadly. Sadly, a good number of Louise Brooks’s films have met the same fate.

But, does anyone remember the plot of a certain Julie Andrews film set back then? Probably not, but there was supposedly a bit of a white slave trade going on back then, shock horror! So I updated it a bit, tweaked the title slightly, and…If I say the heroines first name is Belinda, and you shorten it, you might work it out!

So, yes, I settled on the slave trade, though given its going on the EMCSA (as in E for Erotic), I made them being turned into sex slaves. Belinda (aka Billie, for those still trying to work it out) eventually wins the day, with a measure of chaos and fun thrown into the mix. To be honest, I’m planning a series of ‘Billie’ shorts now, to put up as an ebook. Not all will feature sex (this may well be the only one that does, and that is only mentioned in the story line), some will just be in her ‘day job’ as herself, though I am planning one more piece of mayhem with her as a Super.

What I’m surprised, and pleased about, is how easily I found it to write again, I thought it might have been tougher than it was. Still going to have the time issue, but anyway…

Yes, the video, I love it, just love Julie Andrews reaction to events around her. If you want to sing along, fine. Just change the name slightly, thats all… 😉

Leave a Reply

