A Thanksgiving offer

Yes, this blog will at least make someone blush, I suspect, but he’s made me a very generous offer, and I want the world to know it. So fine, as some of you will point out, Thanksgiving isnt this Thursday, its a week on Thursday, but unfortunately, the calendar at the Garden has got it wrong, but I only realised that after all this had started to play out.

Fine, I’ve been in the US a few times, including a few bank holidays, but one event I’ve never been to, is Thanksgiving. Yes, I know the whole historical thing of it, as I’m sure most of you do, so I wont fill you in with all the details. Suffice to say, its a very important occasion, and I’m sure its not just an excuse to cook turkey twice, in a period of a month, instead of the once that we Brits do. But, and this is the important but, I’ve always seen it as a family occasion, not one for visiting Brits to bust in on.

But at the same time, as an Ameriphile (or whatever term they use), its something I’d love to experience, if just once.

And now, one wonderful gentleman, and friend has offered me the chance to do so, and to counter my argument about it being a family thing, has told me I can unofficially be adopted for the period of events…at least. I have not checked into the official full adoption period, we can work on that later. Thank you so much, James.

Now, as things stand, I’m planning to visit Albany next September, as the second of my US holidays for next year, after the big Kansas excursion in May. Clearly, subject to work situations, and other things that may be happening in the Albany area, its not final yet, just pencilled in. But now, do I go to Albany in September as well, do I go in November instead, or do I just stay over for 2 months? No, the latter isnt going to happen, I dont think my job would approve of the latter move lol! And if I dont go in September, do I stay at home then, as I normally do in November, keeping the count at 2 trips, or do I fit in a third? I may not be made of money, but I’m sure I could pull it off one year, without doing much real damage to the bank balance. Hmm…? Choices, choices…

Anyway, plenty of time to work all this out.

So, a very special thank you, James, I have a strong feeling you need to get those ‘adoption’ papers sorted out lol. Something else to truly look forward to next year, and something very special, that is really appreciated

The video, as I say, strictly, its a week early, but given the blog…

Leave a Reply

