Happy birthday, Brooksie!

Well, I did warn you what tonight’s blog would be about, so please dont tell me you’re surprised at this.

Yes, today, 107 years ago in Cherryvale, Kansas, a baby girl, to be named Mary Brooks was born. Of course, she is better known by her middle name, Louise. No, I have no idea if the city celebrates the day at all, or even acknowledges it, to be honest, but as far as I can tell (from the Cherryvale council website), both homes she lived at are both still standing, though I suspect they have been modernised a bit since then. Unlike Wichita, where the house she lived at, is supposedly long since gone.

As mentioned back in April, I did track down the address she was recorded at, as living in Rochester, a very plain apartment block, but which had one famous resident. And of course, I got to visit her very simple grave, just outside Rochester as well.

At the start of the year, I thought I would have been to Kansas by now, as well, but as regular readers know, thats been delayed till next year, so its still something I’m greatly looking forward to. Fingers crossed that things work out, and I get to Cherryvale, so I can see where Louise Brooks started life as well, but that will be reliant on someone else, as public transport to there is pretty much non existent!

But none of this will happen before May, thats for sure!

In the meantime, lets take the chance to celebrate that birth, 107 years ago, and toast the spirit that is now Louise Brooks.

Oh, a video, oh alright…

Leave a Reply

