I have the dress!

No, not the perfect flapper style dress I saw in TK Maxx in Manchester, that was just a bit too pricey for a one off event, at £99, but it was wonderful, in black and silver. And alright, in theory it might well have been a size too small anyway. But maybe not, judging by my eventual purchase, but there was still the price issue, so… The same store also had a lovely 20’s style dress in teal, but the price tag had disappeared, so no questions asked. It was my size at least, but all the same…

What I had seen in River Island, was a gold dress that could well have been from the same era. No, all 3 were modern dresses, thats for sure, but the style fitted in. Do they have it in my size (UK 14), no, they dont. They have it in 12, they have it in 16, but not in a 14. Then I spot it, a size 12, half price, because a few strands of the waistband were twisted. Now suddenly, at £22.50, that becomes more tempting. But me, in a 12, you have to be joking! But all the same, I take it off to a fitting room and try it on, and though it might be a little bit of a tight fit, I can get in it, in comfort, yay! Thats when I notice the bottom section is very transparent, and I can see my knickers! And if they can be seen, so would my knees, and surgically, they’re not a pretty sight! Problem solved, a pair of gold leggings from elsewhere, and lo and behold, a flapper will go to the works Christmas dinner, whether it counts as fancy dress or just standard posh! Well as ‘Thoroughly Modern Millie’ would say, I now have the painted nails on my toes to match, but bobbing my hair might be another challenge. I’m sure I dont have the hair for a Brooksie fringe sadly, but the rest of the look, hmm… A cloche hat has been suggested, but I can hardly wear that while eating dinner, can I? Might look out for one, all the same 😉

Or if anyone has one I can borrow for a night?

Oh, and guilty, for purely personal reasons, I found a half price dress in Primark yesterday, which I couldnt resist. Why, its in silver, darlings, and quite heavy too. Robot type look, oh perish the thought lol! Also found a clutch handbag to match, got that too. No, I wont be wearing the dress on its own, it doesnt come down as far as my knees! But with a pair of already owned (and under used) silver leggings… Sadly no sleeves, so not the perfect robot look, but for £10… Tried it on this morning, and it does cling. Like any good robot suit I guess, you can get into it easily, but getting out again…lol!

And lastly, the Aqua Massager, an amazing experience, and it really does seem to work. Sadly the headphones provided only seem to play music, not brainwashing subliminals, but you cant have everything! 😉

The video, in tribute to the colour of dress I bought

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntG50eXbBtc

Leave a Reply

