Songs that change music

Yes, I’m sure everyone could name at least several records that have done that for them, one of the obvious ones for my generation being Queen, and Bohemian Rhapsody. A sound that was not only very different, but singles just werent this long back in the days when you had to cram it all on to one side of a 45 rpm record! Yes, American Pie (Don McClean) was longer, but that took up both sides of the single!

Nowadays, with CD’s and the like, the whole length thing is irrelevant, but back then…

Me, I came through, and loved the whole flower power music scene, though I certainly wasnt into the sex and drugs of that era, I was far too young for that! For me, it was just about the music. To be honest, the first time that image, and look came into it for me, was the early seventies, as I started to enter my teen years, and yes, I guess puberty played a part. What coincided with that time was the start of something called glam rock. For my younger readers, try wikipedia for more details, something you couldnt do back then lol!

I’m not certain how big a Bowie fan I was, say compared to Sweet, Mud and Slade, but yes, his music was a definite influence. But for me, there will always be one song that launched the whole glam rock scene for me, and thats the video delight I have for you tonight. And yes, you see the blonde guy, by the name of Mick Ronson? Well he played a bigger part in all of this than he ever got credited for. Bit like Pironi with Adam Ant, I would say.

But this is just one of those songs that just appeared on Top of the Pops, and everyone went wow, and was talking about it the next day. It might not have changed music, but changed my musical perception, that is for sure.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvnoRTC7JQ4

Leave a Reply

