Lets talk mind control

The interesting thing about the mind control used in stories on the Archive, is the wide variety of methods used.

We have everything from the highly possible (or practical?) like hypnosis, which exists, but not necessarily in the ways its used in stories. At the other end of the scale you have the far-fetched, like robotisation chambers (yes, I know, guilty as charged), and nanite injections to change people dramatically. Or alright, as I have done more than once, a combination of both. There are others equally ‘ridiculous’, the meteors from space and the like, but hey, lets joke about my own stuff lol!

Hypnosis works,  I know, at least in a therapeutic sense. I’m told it only works in a way that you want something to happen, but as I’m not an expert, I bow to others about this. Certainly some of the stuff in stories is so against peoples personal judgement, but if, unlike the stories, it was done at a steady pace, could something like that be done? No idea, but maybe?

Subliminals, no, I cant see how something like that could really work, but someone might tell me otherwise. I suppose in the sense it bears some relation to visual hypnosis, it might work, but I’d be doubtful about that.

Pendants and necklaces with the power to control minds, would make jewellery buying a whole different matter, wouldnt it. Sadly fiction, but if it was true, I’d be trying to buy up any with a connection to Louise Brooks lol!

Brainwashing, and/or Mind control helmets, oh I wish, but sorry, I cant see it at present. I suspect electro stimulation of the brain is possible, there are enough places suggesting it is, as a cure for depression, if nothing else.  How well it works, no idea, never tried it. And lets face it, electro shock therapy has wildly varying results, to put it mildly. It has caused memory loss in the past, but not in a controlled sense, only a random one. Not enough to truly call it brainwashing I suspect.

No, sadly there are no mad scientists with chambers that can turn humans into obedient robots. Lets face it, the amount of electricity that would be needed to do something like that would probably kill the person first! Similar methods for turning women into large breasted, small intelligence bimbos, just as much of a no-no at present. But they are fun to read about.

And lets not even go down the road of intelligent lumps of rock landing on Earth from outer space, lol!

But yes, as works of fiction, they are fun to read.

Lastly, one friend is taking an enforced break from the Forums for a while, for a reason I know, but cant mention. Let me just say I hope it all goes well for him, and leave it at that. One other, I wish she’d listen to advice, and get some help if she really needs it, which I suspect she does.

2 thoughts on “Lets talk mind control”

  1. Mind control chambers? guilty, mind control jewelry? guilty, subliminals? guilty… also guilty of evil spells, mindcontrolling, body altering mutant cabbage, cursed objects, and intelligent, thinking energy bursts from outer space, and maybe one day even mind and body altering fungus, er fungi, er whatever. :p

    Like

Leave a Reply

