Cold is relative

Depends on where you live I guess?

You get us British wimps complaining how cold it is when it hits the mid twenties over here, on the other hand, there are parts of the US and Canada who would think that positively tropical at present.Β  I’ve just taken a quick look, and currently Boston is in singles figures (just), and Buffalo barely breaking into positive numbers. Fairbanks, where I have one Facebook contact is currently -45, but it is still night time there, but even so…! I suspect thats pretty much one of the coldest places around though? Nome, a place close to my heart is at 1, quite warm for this time of year lol!

The thing is, I suspect that public transport doesnt collapse around New York State, New England, Toronto etc despite these temperatures, whereas 3 grains of snow over here, and everything will collapse totally! Thankfully its only frost so far, so it hasnt happened yet, but give it time, and I’m sure it will. Knowing my luck it will be the week after next when I’m off! I would like to do some day trips beyond the one to get my back and knees sorted out, to some degree at least, but…

I suppose its what you get used to? If I lived, and worked in, and around that North East sector I mentioned, the cold probably wouldnt bother me as much, if at all,Β unlike it does over here? Me, I just tend to get on with it anyway, but public transport seems unable to do so, and when you’re reliant on it as I am… But yes, I’d still love to chance to live and work in those chilly areas, given the chance. Seattle might be better, but… Hey, I’d probably go and work in Anchorage if given the opportunity lol! Fairbanks, hmm… πŸ˜‰

Its something you get used to, or at least I assume you do, maybe James, Kate and others will tell me differently? Mind, a well insulated silver body suit might make for a good option for me, lol!

Alright, some music which seems applicable at the moment, though doing it along I-90 might be complex all the same! I tossed up several versions of this, but this seemed the most apt somehow

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OATi34PKNPw

6 thoughts on “Cold is relative”

  1. Well, there have been times when I -90 could be best managed that way, but not too often. Usually, by this time of year, I could show you some nice lakes to stroll or snowmobile upon.

    Like

  2. You make a wonderful travel agent lol!
    Trying to imagine a sleigh ride on the I-90, and could see it being ‘fun’!

    Looking forward to seeing your corner of the world next year though.

    Like

  3. There’s a reason why James Taylor wrote,”The first of December was covered in snow, and so was the turnpike from Stockbridge to Boston”. πŸ˜€

    But snow doesn’t usually slow things down too much (unless Menino panics and declares an emergency prior to it happening)… but one can lose some lovely lawn furniture if one is not careful…(let’s see who gets that reference πŸ™‚ )

    Like

  4. Well, the first reference was because of your comment on the sleigh ride on I-90… πŸ˜€

    The second one is due to a long standing Boston (in the city proper) tradition after a major snow. If you dig out a parking space, you put your lawn furniture to mark it so that no one will park there until you can get your car in the spot. A few years ago, Menino instituted a ban on that, which everyone ignored. So, now the city goes on periodic raids of lawn furniture after major snows. It gets entertaining… πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. Yes, it was the lawn furniture one that lost me, I managed to get the first one lol!

    See, thats a problem us non drivers wouldnt have to worry about!

    Like

Leave a Reply

