I write the songs, oopsie, I write the stories

No, dont worry, there is no need for a Barry Manilow warning alert, its not his version. Not that I’m sure this is much better, but he was a heart throb when I was a teen, so…

This might end up sounding like one of those Oscar winning speeches, but I promise not to go on for 25 minutes, nor burst into tears at any point.

There are 2 ironies today, the first one being that I had my first posting at the EMCSA today in a very long time. Not a total drought of stories in that time, just that 2 of the recent ones havent qualified for the place, and apart from one, ‘Georgy Girl’, I havent had much time, or inclination otherwise. Not for lack of tlc from my beloved editor, or indeed one or two gentle kicks up the backside as well, its mainly been a time thing.

But with a holiday, a very friendly spirit muse from the 20’s, and help from one or two special people, its happened today. I suspect this story has got at least 2 more chapters to go, though they make take a while before its all finished. Chapter 2 is in hand, but the third chapter might hit time problems yet, but I hope not. Oh, and a certain 90’s pop video may have played a part as well.

The funny thing is, this inspiration whose first name was Mary (though not the name she was best known by) hasnt just inspired my writing, but my friend Heather as well. And strangely enough, the start of her story appeared today as well! And coincidentally, a certain editor named James has worked on them both!

As an editor as well as a friend, James is wonderful for me. My grammar skills leave a lot to be desired, and as he pointed out to me twice on this piece, he spots my silly blonde errors too! He is patient, knows when to push me, and generally when its best to leave me alone. He is also wonderful in real life btw. Heather I’m yet to meet, though hopefully one day…her avatars I’ve always loved, not only for her favourite actress in them, but for the style as well. She’s also been an amazing help with lots of other things, including finding me a snippet of ‘Mary’ talking, of which there arent many.

So alright, you all know ‘Mary’ is Louise Brooks, but anyway… 😛

I’ve never actually met Andy McCluskey either, though I did go to an OMD concert ‘many, many’ years ago, but thats as close at it ever got. Ironically he’s the only original OMD member on Pandoras Box, though the reformed band (all the originals) have certainly performed it since. That video took my eye, as well as loving the song, and yes, I wanted to know more about the actress concerned.

Unsurprisingly, I never met Mary Louise Brooks, for a very obvious reason, I only discovered her a few years after her death. But if things go to plan (and this is 16 months from now!) I’m hoping that in April 2013, on my trip to the US that I can come and pay my respects at least in Rochester NY, at your graveside. Now, wouldnt that be a great place for me, Heather, and her spirit to all meet up?

I couldnt post Pandoras Box again, much though I’d love to. So I ask you to instead put up with David Cassidy singing, yes, you guessed it…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_6cwUso8CA

Oh, and today, in a charity shop in Ilkley (Yorkshire), I found a silver sequin type top that is so 20-ish, its unreal! Sat in it now, feeling like a proper flapper girl! Sadly its dry clean only, so wearing will be limited, but its wonderful to own at least. And cheaper than it was originally, thats for sure!

6 thoughts on “I write the songs, oopsie, I write the stories”

  1. I will skip Mr. Cassidy, thank you very much . . .

    And it has been a privilege to deal with two such brilliant authors. Looking forward to more . . .

    Like

  2. I was deeply into the Ramones during the Osmonds/Cassidy/lief Garret times, but all of them are better than that shriek, Miss M. 😉

    Like

  3. Sorry, Miss H, but I couldnt find a glam rock version of a suitable song! 😉 As I said, its why I gave spoilers, to allow those of delicate tastes (or just good taste) to avoid it if so inclined!

    Like

Leave a Reply

