Holding on for…

One of those tenuous blog entries related to the throwaway last line of my previous one.

As most on here know, most of my musical preferences are pretty much pure pop, and quite often of the sweeter side of that. Alright, you need to ignore Kraftwerk in that lol, but anyway…

There was always one song producer that totally confounded that theory, I just adored the big rock production numbers that he churned out, mainly care of Meatloaf and Bonnie Tyler, name of Jim Steinman. Mind, the videos created for his songs, especially the Meatloaf ones probably helped! Another producer who didnt believe in the 3 minute pop song lol! Rock anthems, rock ballads, call them what you liked, but they rarely came in small packages, thank goodness.

Irony of irony, given matters, it seems that Steinman’s own personal pop project was a group called Pandora’s Box! No idea where I’ve heard that name before lol! Not that I really know anything about them, judging by the Wikipedia comments, they never really made it this side of the pond, but I doubt they made a record about Louise Brooks!

Yes, the song is the obvious one, from the hint in the last blog, and the title of this one too. I suspect I will slip in some Meatloaf at some point as well. I might have to see if I can find any Pandora’s Box sometime on You Tube as well. My idea of a hero, well it might be more a Rotwang type scientist than what Bonnie Tyler wants, but each to their own I guess? So, whichever type of hero (or heroine) you hold out for, I hope you enjoy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7f_HsjpSVaI

4 thoughts on “Holding on for…”

  1. Another thing we have in common, Steph. Jim Steinman has always been one of my favorite rock lyricists. I always thought Meat Loaf would never have been much without Steinman’s songs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

