Nothing to do with robots! Shock horror…

But entirely to be with somewhere I shall be visiting in just over 5 weeks time, well alright, 5 weeks tomorrow! I could make some witty comment about MIT working on a plan to robotise me, but as I promised not to mention robots, thats it!

I have been to Boston before, and what I remember of the place, I really liked it. Snag is, that was 23 years ago, now I’m showing my age! So my memories of the exact details are rather vague to say the least. Funnily enough that was also in September, but no idea what date it was lol! My partner at the time had an aunt living in Groton, so the main purpose was to visit her, though both of us also planned that the main part of our 2 week trip would be just us, and so it proved.

2 Firsts happened then, though neither in Boston. First ever Ice Hockey match in Hartford, though neither of us knew anything about the game, we got invited, said yes, and well, I dont remember much. All I know is that the Hartford Whalers are now in Carolina, hope that wasnt anything to do with us! Other first, and of more interest to me, my first ever live game of American football, a college game at Yale, against Columbia. All I remember is Yale won, seeing the public parts of the college beforehand was interesting, and Sheila’s fascination with the guys shouting, and selling ‘Soda’! Nothing like that happens in our country, even now!

Oh, alright, Boston. We spent the first few days there, before heading down to Groton, and saw a lot of the sights. The topical one at the time was the ‘Cheers Bar’, though as we saw it at 9 in the morning or so, we didnt go in! Memories otherwise are very vague, other than the Heritage walk, and Feneuil Hall to be honest, so it will be more like a first time visit I guess? Saw somewhere called Fenway Park from the observation platform somewhere, I think it was the John Hancock Tower, but could have that totally wrong? Been told I might see more of Fenway Park this time lol!

It seems 2 ‘Gardeners’ seem to want to meet up with me this time around, one of whom is a lovely guy I’ve ‘known’ most of my time at the Garden, and hey, I even know what he looks like! Pretty much fitted my image of him too in all honesty. Hopefully he will be able to get across at some point, if not I might be doing an Amtrak trek to meet this wonderful person, but that wouldnt be the biggest hardship in the world, other than it would mean an overnight stay away, and I’d hate to be a hardship on him.

The other is a lady I know far less about, certainly have no idea what she looks like, and to be honest, no great image in my head either. Oh, and she has a dog named after a famous baseball park, or is that the other way around? 😉

Guess they might sound familiar to some?

5 weeks from now, I should be in bed, as I’ve got an early start the next morning, but here and now, I can blog about a trip I’m really looking forward to.

3 thoughts on “Nothing to do with robots! Shock horror…”

  1. So your parents took you and your partner to New England when you were 12! Fascinating! 😉

    Pulling this age stuff on your hosts for this trip just isn’t going to work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

